Blog 4: LA Times Sundance Film Festival

For this blog post, I decided to look at the LA Times coverage of the Sundance Film Festival.

http://www.latimes.com/entertainment/envelope/sundance-film-festival/

One of the features I like the most on this site is the infinite scroll feature, but I feel like it complicates the flow of the section. It starts out with different movie review articles embedded on the page.  As you scroll down the page there is another section labeled Festival News that runs horizontally across the page.  These articles are not about the Sundance festival so it’s confusing this banner at this part of the page.

Screen Shot 2014-10-10 at 11.24.31 AM

I didn’t like that you weren’t able to click the headlines like video, or festival highlights. Also the site ha more videos and photo galleries on the Film Festival but they weren’t linked or embedded to this section.

Screen Shot 2014-10-10 at 11.44.41 AM

A lot of the videos are interviews with directors of the films, which is great because it gives you more insight about the festival.  If you didn’t know what the Sundance Film Festival was, I would recommend this site for the most recent events, but suggest the official website for the history of the festival.  http://www.sundance.org/festival/

In my opinion the site offers a lot of good information on specific movies/events of the festival and provides good information to people who didn’t attend the festival. The site also updates it’s information on films and directors as it happens, so I like that you’re getting the most updated information.

 

One thought on “Blog 4: LA Times Sundance Film Festival

  1. I agree with you about how this site gives you specific information about movies and events regarding the film festival. However, I myself am not a fan of the infinite scroll especially theirs. I also didn’t like that you couldn’t click on the headlines like video or festival highlights. This site felt disorganized to me because I don’t like being bombarded by a lot different types of information on the same page. I think they should separated it out into different pages better. But that’s just my personal preference.

    I critiqued the Sundance Film Festival website and agree that it would be better for those who aren’t super familiar with the festival.

    Like

Leave a Reply

