Blog Four: Rwanda Film Festival

I absolutely love the simplicity and color scheme of this website. The website is clean, crisp and easy to navigate. It focuses on the rich visuals from the featured films to draw in the viewer’s attention. I appreciate how it has earthy tones mixed with a few standout colors like blue.

I want to make my True/False site similar to this one. I want the focus to be largely visuals with a simplistic background. The focus is the film not the website design. It should be easy to read and navigate like this one. They used strong, rich visuals and transition effects. The pictures from the films the designer used even has similar color schemes but enough to differentiate between photos.

I want to learn how to transition in my CSS similar to this website. I also like the connection to social on the sidebar as it scrolls down the screen. That could be a convenient technique to use on my own website designs.

One thing that was interesting to me was that there were no video or audio samples on the website. That might be for case of infringement because I don’t know much about Rwandan regulation on those types of things but that could have enhanced the user experience.

The theme of the site is “Reflection: 10 Years Hillywood”. The film festival will show some of the best of the past 10 years. The intended audience is for interested viewers both past and future.

Screen Shot 2014-10-13 at 3.36.09 PM

One thought on “Blog Four: Rwanda Film Festival

  1. I really like this site, too. I like it’s use of images. All of the images are of a high quality and displayed prominently. When you have good images, I think it’s a great idea to base your design around it. I liked the scroll on the homepage. It’s a nice way to highlight some of the best features of the festival. I thought it was interesting they put the navigation in the middle of the page, essentially. I thought it would have made more sense at the top but perhaps they didn’t want to do that because it would bump up with the text at the top.

    Like

Leave a Reply

