New York Times Snowfall Project

Screen Shot 2014-10-23 at 6.48.13 PM

I was shown this story in one of my photojournalism classes and fell in love with it immediately. The design is clean and simple. The color palette is white and gray, which goes with the story since it’s about snow. This story includes photos, videos and interactive maps that make super enticing.

Normally I’m not a huge fan of scrolling, but with this project I don’t mind at all and actually like it because it keeps me wanting to scroll to see what else is going to happen. I really enjoy how the video fades in with the text.

I really liked how this piece was broken up into different parts. Another feature I really like how toward the middle of the text in part three the person’s name would be highlighted and a tab would appear to the right telling about who they are, their age and what their job is.

This site is extremely easy to use, you pretty much just scroll. There’s a lot of things I’d like to borrow from this site, but some might be too difficult for me like the including the gif. But I also really like the simple design of the navigation bar. The audience of this site is pretty much anyone especially readers of the NY Times.

One thought on “New York Times Snowfall Project

  1. arw62d says:

    This is a great example of designing to fit the story. Since the story is about snow and snowfall, it makes sense to have a minimalist site with a white navigation bar. I really like how the photos start as black and white, then fade to color, and then back to black and white. That particular technique fits the theme very well. As always, the New York Times can be counted on to do it right.

    Like

Leave a Reply

